Cyclocross


Dawson owns bragging rights to the only school-sponsored cyclocross team in the state of Colorado, complete with its own competitive on-campus course.  The co-ed team is comprised of riders in 6th-12th grades of all abilities from beginners to veteran riders, not only from Dawson, but other Boulder County middle and high schools. The equivalent of the steeplechase on wheels, riders compete in races from Denver to Boulder racing laps around a short course that can include grass, dirt, pavement, sand and mud. Occasional barriers require riders to jump off their bikes, re-mount and continue on the course. Riders get fit, learn bike-handling skills and have a lot of fun in the process.

HEAD COACH: Melissa Barker (303-665-6679)

2013 SCHEDULE

Date Race Location Time JW 15-18 JM/W 10-14 JM 15-18 SM4
Wednesday, Sept. 11 at Back to Basics CX Series Golden, Colo. 5 p.m.        
Saturday, Sept. 21 CycloX Race #2 Boulder (Valmont Bike Park)   10:46 a.m. 11:35 a.m. 12:42 p.m. 2:30 p.m.
Friday-Sunday, Sept. 27-29 ACA Jr. Cyclocross Camp TBA          
Sunday, Sept. 29 CycloX Race #1 Broomfield, Colo. (Flatirons Crossing Mall)   10:46 a.m. 11:35 a.m. 12:42 p.m. 2:30 p.m.
Wednesday, Oct. 9 Back to Basics CX Series Golden, Colo. 5 p.m.        
Wednesday, Oct. 16 Back to Basics CX Series Golden, Colo. 5 p.m.        
Saturday, Oct. 26 CycloX Race #3 Longmont, Colo. (Xilinx)   10:46 a.m. 11:35 a.m. 12:42 p.m. 2:30 p.m.
Saturdsay, Nov. 2 Schoolyard CX TBD   10:46 a.m. 11:35 a.m. 12:42 p.m. 2:30 p.m.
 Sunday, Nov. 10 Blue Sky CX Longmont, Colo. (Xilinx)   10:46 a.m. 11:35 a.m. 12:40 p.m. 12:40 p.m.
               
Saturday-Sunday, Dec. 14-15 Colorado State CX Championship Louisville, Colo. (Monarch H.S.)          
Wednesday-Sunday, Jan. 8-12 Cyclocross National Championships Boulder, Colo. (Valmont Bike Park)